Feb. 14, 2023

2022 Arts Employer and Student of the Year Awards

Faculty of Arts Co-op program celebrates successes of employer supervisors and co-op students

The annual 2022 Arts Co-op Employer and Student of the Year Award Ceremony was held on Jan. 24, 2023, celebrating the hard work of Co-op students and the support they received from employers over the past year. The recording of the awards can be found here.

Twenty-two students and thirty-three supervisors received nominations. These were reviewed by an impartial judging panel of five individuals who volunteered their time to review the nominations and determine the winners and honorable mentions. Dr. Dawn Johnston, Associate Dean, Teaching, Learning and Student Engagement presented the awards in the following categories: Off-Campus Large Organizations, Off-Campus Small/Medium Organizations and On-Campus departments.

Employers recognized included Aubin Consulting, BlackBerry, Secure Energy, and The Prosperity Project amongst other companies.

It is amazing to have such hard-working students throughout the year, especially Yoanna. It is more what we learn from the students than anything at the end of the day

Karla Medina, 2022 Off Campus, Small/Medium Employer of the Year Winner

The student winners came from a variety of programs of study - Anthropology, Law and Society, Political Science, and Psychology.

Much like my experience with the University of Calgary, I am learning something new, challenging and fun every day. In my opinion, it is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity of learning and personal growth.

Julie Kim, Nominator of Alex Chung, the Off Campus, Small/Medium Organization Employer of the Year Winner

During their Co-op terms students learn from industry professionals, develop skills, and become integral members of their teams. Students experienced a mix of in-person, hybrid, and fully virtual co-op placements throughout 2022. It was evident from the thoughtful acceptance speeches that both work formats led to strong interpersonal relationships, and even friendships, leading to continued professional and personal connections. Employers noted how impressive the students were and their positive impact and contributions to their teams, resulting from their energy, initiative, and strong work ethic.

The Awards Ceremony is a highlight for the entire Co-op team who are happy to be part of the process and to witness the success of students and work with such supportive supervisors and employers, on and off-campus. Please join us in congratulating and acknowledging the hard work of the finalists.


Student of the Year Awards



On Campus

Winner: Madison Negrey, nominated by Mackenzie Beerbaum, Recruitment and Admissions Department

Honorable Mention: Nicole Schmidt, nominated by Getsey Boyd, Students’ Union

Honorable Mention: Nour Haj Ali, nominated by Jaeuun Lee, International Student Services





Off Campus, Large Organization

Winner: Hanna Mughal, nominated by Andrew Lejeune and Judy Smith, City of Edmonton

Honorable Mention: Keanu Dickson, nominated by Maria Watts and Audra Watamanuk, Calgary Exhibition and Stampede

Honorable Mention: Ana Gallego Moreno, nominated by Jessica Yarnell, Cenovus Energy





Off Campus, Small/Medium Organization

Winner: Nathan Karbonik, nominated by Al-Karim Khimji, Propra Technologies Inc.

Honorable Mention: Krushi Patel, nominated by Kendall Quantz, Burns Memorial Fund

Honorable Mention: Dannah Fanlo, nominated by Aaron Aubin, Aubin Consulting




Employer of the Year Awards


On Campus

Winner: Jaeeun Lee, nominated by Nour Haj Ali, International Student Services

Winner: Garrett Beatty, nominated by Nour Haj Ali, International Student Services

Honorable Mention: Travis Milnes, nominated by Zoe Nguyen, Office of sustainability

Honorable Mention: Mackenzie Beerbaum, nominated by Madison Negrey, Recruitment and Admissions Department


Off Campus, Large Organization

Winner: Matthew Avenna, nominated by Karan Dullat, BlackBerry

Honorable Mention: Kerry Mowbray, nominated by Cole Challand, Secure Energy 


Off Campus, Small/Medium Organization

Winner: Alex Chung, nominated by Julie Kim, Sunlake Co.,Ltd.

Honorable Mention: Karla Medina, nominated by Yoanna Nikolova, The Prosperity Project